You are here: Governance


Vince O’Rourke (Chairman)

Mr O’Rourke is Chair of the Holy Cross Laundry Ltd Board.  He has enjoyed a distinguished career, primarily in the rail transport industry.  In 1990 he was appointed Queensland Commissioner for Railways before taking the position of Chief Executive Officer at Queensland Rail (QR) from 1991 to 2000. 

He has been director of many companies including Linfox Holdings, Bradken Ltd, the Queensland Workplace Health and Safety Board and the Rail Cooperative Research Centre for Engineering and Technologies. 

He is currently a non-Executive Director of Mater Health Services Brisbane Ltd, White Energy Company Ltd and Yancoal Australia Ltd.  He is a trustee of the Queensland Museum Foundation and a member of the Ipswich Rail Workshops Museum advisory committee.  

He was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia in 2000 and was awarded a Centenary medal in 2003 for services to the Rail Transport Industry and Queensland Rail. 

Mr O’Rourke’s appointment to the Board commenced on 1st January 2013.


Richard Marszalek  (Deputy Chairman)

Richard was employed in the banking/finance industry for 35 years specialising in insolvency and work out practices for large corporate clients for one of Australia’s largest banks.  For a period of 10 years he was self-employed as a mortgage/finance broker. 

He also served for 15 years in the Australian Army Reserve retiring with the rank of Major and is a former Rotarian.

He was invited to join the Holy Cross Laundry Management Committee in February 2006.  Following a restructure of the Laundry’s organisation, he was appointed Chair of the Holy Cross Laundry Governing Board in September 2007.  In July 2009 he was appointed to chair the Holy Cross Laundry Redevelopment Committee/Project Control Group which was tasked with locating land and building a new laundry.  This was completed in 2013 and it became operational in November 2014 at Banyo.

A new Holy Cross Laundry board was established on 1st January 2013 in preparation for incorporation.  Richard was appointed Deputy Chair and is also chair of the Risk Committee. 

Richard is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 

He does community work as a Justice of the Peace/Commissioner of Declarations in the JP’s in the Community Program sponsored by the Department of Justice and Attorney General Qld.


                                   John McAuliffe

John was previously the Chairman of the board at the Holy Spirit Hospital, Brisbane and the Mater Health Services, Brisbane and a former member of the board of the Mount Olivet Hospital and Freedom Aged Care.  John is chairman of Brisbane Housing Company, Chairman of Multicap, and a director of Lady Bowen Trust.

John was awarded a Member of the Order of Australia in June 2007 for service to the community particularly through executive roles in the areas of health care and public housing management, and to the property valuation industry.

John has a strong relationship with both Federal and State Governments and Secretaries and Directors General.  As Chairman of these Boards he regularly meets with both Federal and State Ministers on housing issues and has provided advice on stock transfer of the Government’s housing portfolio.

John commenced on the Board in November 2014.


Lynn Smart

Lynn is an experienced company director, business and accounting professional with broad industry experience. Her health sector experience is in aged care, mental health, disability and children’s services. She is outcome and customer focussed, gained from a commercial sector background including significant mergers and acquisition exposure. Lynn’s substantive profession has been in senior management and accounting roles within global and Australian organisations.

Lynn is Deputy Chair of Mercy Community South East Queensland Ltd and Independent Chair of Zarraffa’s Coffee Group Pty Ltd. Prior appointments include the Bundaberg Irrigation Scheme Investigation Board (LMA Stage 3) on behalf of the Queensland Department of Energy and Water Supply, Open Minds Australia Ltd and the Anywhere Theatre Festival Ltd.

Lynn holds a Bachelor of Commerce (Accounting) and has been a CPA for more than 20 years. She also holds an MBA from the University of Queensland and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Laurie Rogencamp (Company Secretary)

Laurence is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of Queensland, having been admitted in 1987.

He has practised principally in the corporate and commercial areas of law. He is a Board Member of Mater Misericordiae Hospital Townsville Ltd.  Laurie is also a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

He has held the position of Company Secretary since January 2013.





                                          Jim O’Sullivan (Director)

 Mr. O'Sullivan served in the Queensland Police service for 41 years and served on every   rank. He was appointed Chief Investigator of the Fitzgerald Corruption Commission of Inquiry in 1987. He retired as Commissioner of Police in 2000.

Mr. O'Sullivan processes an Honorary doctorate from the Queensland University of technology and a further doctorate from Griffiths University Brisbane.

Mr O'Sullivan was awarded The Companion of The Order of Australia in 2001 for his services to the people of Queensland.

Mr. O'Sullivan was also awarded the Premier of Queensland medal for excellence. Also the Australian Police medal, The National medal of Australia and the Long Service and Good Conduct medal.
Mr. O'Sullivan was also appointed as deputy commissioner of the Queensland Flood Commission of Inquiry.

Mr. O'Sullivan served as a director of the Mater Foundation Trust for a number of years. He also served as a member of several boards of inquiry ordered by the Federal Government into issues of serving military personnel who died in the course of their duties in Australia and overseas. 

He also conducted several reviews into Government departments in Queensland and the Northern Territory.


                                          Dr John Gilmour (Director)

John has worked in healthcare for over 35 years both clinically and in management – primarily at the “Mater” in Brisbane and until March 2018 was a member of the Executive leadership team at Mater for over 12 years.

A Physiotherapist by profession, he has worked primarily in paediatrics and completed his Doctorate in Paediatric Physiotherapy in 2002 at UQ and is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 2015.

In April 2018 John moved to his current role of CEO of Ronald McDonald House Charities South East Queensland Chapter.John has served in a range of Board Director roles over a 25 year period including 14 years voluntary Director service with Ronald McDonald House Charities (RMHC) South East Queensland ending in February 2018 and a previous Director of Holy Cross laundry from 2013 – 2016.

In June 2018, John was awarded Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for service to the community related to infrastructure delivery in the NFP health sector.


Holy Cross Laundry is a Mercy Ministry